A Sun-Bath-Nakedness – Walt Whitman (1819-1892)

Happy Bare

Image Walt Whitman’s Birthday Suit by Thomas Eakins, 1885

Walt Whitman (1819-1892). Prose Works. 1892. I. Specimen Days 133. A Sun-Bath-Nakedness

Sunday, Aug. 27. Another day quite free from mark’d prostration and pain. It seems indeed as if peace and nutriment from heaven subtly filter into me as I slowly hobble down these country lanes and across fields, in the good air as I sit here in solitude with Nature open, voiceless, mystic, far removed, yet palpable, eloquent Nature. I merge myself in the scene, in the perfect day. Hovering over the clear brook-water, I am sooth’d by its soft gurgle in one place, and the hoarser murmurs of its three-foot fall in another. Come, ye disconsolate, in whom any latent eligibility is left—come get the sure virtues of creek-shore, and wood and field. Two months (July and August, ’77,) have I absorb’d them, and they begin to make a new man…

View original post 690 more words

Leave a Reply

